“The enormous collective scientific and technical talent in the GMT consortium will allow us to push back the frontiers of astronomy and enable future discoveries.”

GMTO Staff

GMTO Corporate Office
Patrick McCarthy, Interim President
Nick Avlessi, Accounts Payable Specialist
Christina Balian, Project Specialist
Zerelda Bolling, Senior Staff Accountant
Bryce Darlington, IT Support Technician
Darwin Dobson, Senior Director, Enterprise Applications
Marisa Glass, Human Resources
Alan Gordon, Chief Financial Officer
Richard Haley, Contracts Officer
Amy Honbo, Controller
Damien Jemison, Creative Art Director
Sara Lee Keller, General Counsel
Amanda Kocz, Communications Officer
Heidi Linn, Executive Assistant
Charissa Moctezuma, Executive Assistant
Catalina Navarrete, Recruiting Assistant
Mark Roush, Collaboration Platform Manager
Efren Sandoval, Systems Administrator
Diana Tatevosian, Accountant
Juan Trujillo, Office Administrator
Leticia Woodard, Purchasing Manager

GMTO Project Office
James Fanson, Project Manager
Chris Alongi, Optical Engineer
Matthieu Bec, Real Time Software Engineer
Rob Bernier, Senior Opto-Mechanical Engineer and Secondary Mirror System Lead
Rebecca A. Bernstein, Project Scientist
Bruce Bigelow, Opto-Mechanical Systems Lead
Antonin Bouchez, Adaptive Optics Group Lead
Nune Boyadjian, Senior Project Controller
William Burgett, Deputy Project Manager
Eric Chauvin, OASIS Design Leader
Rod Conan, Adaptive Optics Controls Scientist
Adam Contos, Senior Systems Engineer
Lee Dettmann, Senior Optical Engineer
Jade Dhatchayangkul, Senior Project Cost Analyst
Chris Echols, Mechanical Engineer
Jose Filgueira, Software and Controls Group Lead
Paul Gardner, Opto-Mechanical Engineer
Bob Goodrich, Observatory Scientist
Kayla Hardie, Systems Engineer Associate
Maria Hernandez, Configuration Management Specialist
Benjamin Irarrazaval, Controls Engineer
George Jacoby, Instrumentation Scientist
Heidy Kelman, Mechanical Designer
King-Ming Lam, Mechanical Engineer
Sean Lin, Senior Opto-Mechanical Engineer
Leni Malherbe, Document Control Specialist
John Miles, Integration and Test Lead
Jeffrey S. Morgan, Primary Mirror Systems Lead
Phill Murg, CAD EPDM Manager
Eric Pearce, Telescope Group Lead
Chien Y. Peng, Scientific Programmer
Marti Pi, Software Engineer
Fernando Quiros-Pacheco, Adaptive Optics Scientist
Ruth Paredes, Document Control Specialist
Andrew Rakich, Senior Optical Engineer
Paul Rasmussen, Telescope Structural Engineer
Wylie Rosenthal, Optical Engineer
Larry Sokolsky, Senior Opto-Mechanical Engineer
Paul Stupik, Optical Scientist
Bahram Talison, Lead Structural Engineer
Dave Thomas, Senior Systems Engineer
Frank Tian, Electrical Engineer
Abhijit Wadhavkar, Telescope Mechanical Engineer
Brian Walls, Senior Systems Engineer

GMTO Chile Office
Pedro Delgado, Accounting and Finance Manager
Eduardo Donoso, Site Manager
Francisco Figueroa, Site Engineer
Hector Higueras, Site Construction Surveyor
Pamela Jofré, Payroll and Benefits Officer
Javier Luna, Project Controls Lead
Claudio Navarro, Contracts & Procurement Manager
Rafael Ovando, Systems Administrator
Mauricio Pilleux, Head of Administration
Miguel Roth, Legal Representative
Jose Soto, Telescope Electronic Controls Engineer


GMTO Board of Directors

Taft Armandroff, Chair, The University of Texas at Austin
Charles Alcock, Smithsonian Institution
Wayne Alexander, former President, SBC Southwestern Bell
Timothy Doyle, Carnegie Institution for Science
Daniel Eisenstein, Harvard University
Buell Jannuzi, The University of Arizona
Anne-Marie Lansdown, Universities Australia
Walter Massey, Art Institute of Chicago
Richard Meserve, President Emeritus of Carnegie Institution for Science 
/ Covington and Burling
Se-Jung Oh, Seoul National University
Byeong-Gon Park, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Nigel Poole, National Measurement Institute
João Steiner, FAPESP
Jerry Strawser, Texas A&M University

James Wyant, University of Arizona


GMTO Science Advisory Committee

Alan Dressler, Chair, The Carnegie Observatories
Edo Berger, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Bob Blum, NOAO, Community Representative
Anita Cochran, The University of Texas at Austin
Jeff Crane, Carnegie Institution for Science
Eduardo Cypriano, Brazil
Gary Da Costa, Mount Stromlo Observatory
Josh Eisner, The University of Arizona
Daniel Fabricant, Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Mike Gladders, The University of Chicago
Jenny Greene, Princeton, Community Representative
Jae-Joon Lee, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute
Casey Papovich, Texas A&M University
Rob Simcoe, MIT, Community Representative
Andy Sheinis, Australian Astronomical Observatory
João Steiner, FAPESP


GMTO Project Science Team

Dan Fabricant (Chair)
Laird Close
Mario Mateo
Brian McLeod
Povilas Palunas
Rob Simcoe

“The successful review by a distinguished panel of experts verifies what we have known for some time – we have an outstanding AO team and a great design.”

Richard F. Caris Mirror Lab

Steward Observatory Director:
Buell Jannuzi

SO Associate Director:
Jeffrey Kingsley

J. Roger P. Angel

RFC Mirror Lab Manager:
Stuart Weinberger

Please visit the University of Arizona’s Richard F. Caris Mirror Lab personnel page for a full staff listing.